Browsing our collections, but uncertain where to start? Below you will find a random selection of our collections.



Freeport High School Yearbooks and Commencement Programs

Freeport Memorial Library

Freeport High School yearbooks began publication in 1927. In 2016, the Freeport Memorial Library in cooperation with the Freeport Historical Society partnered to digitize a complete set of yearbooks.

Explore the Collection >>>

Roosevelt Wild Life Station Collection

SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry - Moon Library

Dates of Original: 1920 - 1934

The Roosevelt Wild Life Station was established by an act of the New York State Legislature in 1919 to memorialize Theodore Roosevelt as a wildlife conservationist. The Station was established at the College of Forestry at Syracuse University (now SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry) through the efforts of Dr. Charles C. Adams, who was a professor of forest zoology at the College and went on to become Director of the New York State Museum in Albany. The scientific information gleaned from the RWLS helped wild animals become recognized as a natural resource in need of... Read more

Explore the Collection >>>

The Roosevelts Visit Syracuse

SUNY Upstate Medical University - Health Sciences Library

Dates of Original: 1932 - 1936; 1953 - 1957

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (FDR) and Eleanor Roosevelt visited Syracuse at various times in the 20th century for presidential campaign visits, community outreach, Democratic conventions, and family visits.

Explore the Collection >>>

Freeport Memorial Library Board Minutes

Freeport Memorial Library

Dates of Original: 1931-2002

The Freeport Memorial Library was established in 1884 by Professor Loren M. Burdick, principal of the Freeport Schools, with funds raised by amateur entertainments. In 1895, the Board of Regents of New York State granted a provisional charter. A permanent charter, signed by Melvil Dewey, was granted on December 21, 1899. The Library was housed in a school until 1911 when it was moved to a rented room in the Miller Building on South Grove Street. On Memorial Day in 1924, the Beaux Arts building, designed by architect Charles M. Hart was dedicated as the first war memorial library in New... Read more

Explore the Collection >>>